Skip to content

GitHub Copilot code review vs OpenAI Codex code review

Both are AI pull-request reviewers with a verified GitHub bot. They share 1 Git platform. Facts come from each vendor's own pages; counts are public PRs created in 2026-W39 that each bot formally reviewed.

GitHub Copilot code review compared with OpenAI Codex code review
FactGitHub Copilot code reviewOpenAI Codex code review
Public PRs reviewed (rank)146,488 (#1)115,760 (#2)
Botcopilot-pull-request-reviewer[bot]chatgpt-codex-connector[bot]
CategoryPlatform-nativePlatform-native
PlatformsGitHub, Azure DevOpsGitHub, GitLab
Self-hostNoNo
LicenceProprietaryProprietary
Pricing modelper-seatper-seat
Entry price$10/seat/mo (Copilot Pro (individual) is the cheapest plan with PR review; the Free plan does not include it. Each review also uses GitHub AI credits (1 credit = $0.01). Docs estimate $0.05-$1 per review at Lite effort and $0.25-$5 at Balanced. Business/Enterprise per-seat prices were not on the plans page. Free Copilot Pro is offered to verified teachers and maintainers of popular OSS repos (GitHub decides eligibility), not to OSS repos in general.)$20/seat/mo (ChatGPT Plus at $20/month is the cheapest plan listing cloud integrations such as automatic code review. Business is $25/user/month billed monthly ($20 annual, 2+ users). Usage counts against plan limits and can be extended with credits. API-key use has no GitHub code review. Free/Go list no code review for GitHub, while the GitLab beta page says it is 'available on all ChatGPT plans'. The Codex for OSS program is selective (by application).)
Free for open sourceNot statedNot stated
Free tierNoNot stated
Sourcespricing · platforms (checked 2026-10-07)pricing · platforms (checked 2026-10-07)

A higher count means more observed public activity, not better reviews. See the methodology.