OpenAI Codex code review vs CodeRabbit
Both are AI pull-request reviewers with a verified GitHub bot. They share 2 Git platforms. Facts come from each vendor's own pages; counts are public PRs created in 2026-W39 that each bot formally reviewed.
| Fact | OpenAI Codex code review | CodeRabbit |
|---|---|---|
| Public PRs reviewed (rank) | 115,760 (#2) | 81,094 (#3) |
| Bot | chatgpt-codex-connector[bot] | coderabbitai[bot] |
| Category | Platform-native | Commercial |
| Platforms | GitHub, GitLab | GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps |
| Self-host | No | Enterprise only |
| Licence | Proprietary | Proprietary |
| Pricing model | per-seat | per-seat |
| Entry price | $20/seat/mo (ChatGPT Plus at $20/month is the cheapest plan listing cloud integrations such as automatic code review. Business is $25/user/month billed monthly ($20 annual, 2+ users). Usage counts against plan limits and can be extended with credits. API-key use has no GitHub code review. Free/Go list no code review for GitHub, while the GitLab beta page says it is 'available on all ChatGPT plans'. The Codex for OSS program is selective (by application).) | $30/seat/mo (Essentials plan, monthly billing USD 30/dev; USD 24/dev billed annually. 14-day trial. Free reviews forever on public repos; docs FAQ lists Free and OSS plans. Self-hosting listed only under Enterprise.) |
| Free for open source | Not stated | Yes |
| Free tier | Not stated | Yes |
| Sources | pricing · platforms (checked 2026-10-07) | pricing · platforms (checked 2026-10-07) |
A higher count means more observed public activity, not better reviews. See the methodology.