Skip to content

OpenAI Codex code review vs Greptile

Both are AI pull-request reviewers with a verified GitHub bot. They share 2 Git platforms. Facts come from each vendor's own pages; counts are public PRs created in 2026-W39 that each bot formally reviewed.

OpenAI Codex code review compared with Greptile
FactOpenAI Codex code reviewGreptile
Public PRs reviewed (rank)115,760 (#2)30,195 (#4)
Botchatgpt-codex-connector[bot]greptile-apps[bot]
CategoryPlatform-nativeCommercial
PlatformsGitHub, GitLabGitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket
Self-hostNoEnterprise only
LicenceProprietaryProprietary
Pricing modelper-seatper-seat
Entry price$20/seat/mo (ChatGPT Plus at $20/month is the cheapest plan listing cloud integrations such as automatic code review. Business is $25/user/month billed monthly ($20 annual, 2+ users). Usage counts against plan limits and can be extended with credits. API-key use has no GitHub code review. Free/Go list no code review for GitHub, while the GitLab beta page says it is 'available on all ChatGPT plans'. The Codex for OSS program is selective (by application).)$30/seat/mo (Pro USD 30/seat/month incl. 50 credits per seat; extra credits USD 1. Starter free for 1 active developer. Free for qualified non-commercial OSI-licensed projects. Annual = custom pricing. Self-host under Enterprise.)
Free for open sourceNot statedYes
Free tierNot statedYes
Sourcespricing · platforms (checked 2026-10-07)pricing · platforms (checked 2026-10-07)

A higher count means more observed public activity, not better reviews. See the methodology.